The real street art. The most celebrated region in Plaka is Anafiotika, that everyone can find in most of Athens’ guides. Anafiotika include also history inside them, with churches and taverns as well. Main color is Cycladic white, because they were built by builders from Anafi island (initially hired to build Athens new Anaktora- Palace that was being built 1836-1847, since Athens was the new capital at 1834). Plaka’s inhabitants were offended by the islanders’ illegal building activity, but they accepted them because King finally allowed them to built their houses there.
Consequently, Anafiotika (houses) stand in the northern slopes of Acropolis, constructed from two Anafi technicians, by building two houses for their families in public space, by curving the rock, without being seen by police. The first two were a carpenter named G. Damigos (next to Brettos in Kydathineon there is Damigos restaurant) and builder M. Sigalas. They created a neighborhood not only covered in white colour, but with basil flower pots, pergolas and climaxes. Their intervention is expanding between two churches that found destroyed and rebuilt them with love and care.
The church of Saint George Stratonos was made white like their Aegean colours. The temple is located in the northeast side of Acropolis, in Stratonos street, and has a northeast orientation. During Greek War of Independence, the temple suffered mass destruction. Agios Georgios is also connected to a story who committed suicide jumping from Acropolis holding the Greek flag, in 1941, named Koukidis. In 1964, in the left part a new small church of Saint Constantine was built and today both churches are next to Saint Nikolas Ragavas.
The other church is Saint Symeon. The temple was initially built in 17th century but in 1847 was rebuilt. Anafiotes also place a copy of Panagia Kalamiotissa icon, originally located in Anafi church.The church of Saint Symeon was also the residence of Anafi’s Union in Athens, established in 1927.
Κατάλληλο για όλους
Η περιοχή διαθέτει